The Annual Thanksgiving Challenge

I am sending this out to all five of my blogs, and I hope other blog publishers will also pass this along as we try to help others.

Next week marks the celebration of Thanksgiving here in the USA – a time to be reflective of all of our blessings and to give thanks for what we have, our family, and our friends as well as the UAS tradition of eating a huge meal. Unfortunately, there are a lot of people who aren’t as fortunate and don’t have a guarantee of a meal each day let alone for Thanksgiving Day.

I think we can do a little something about it…

This year marks the fifth year I’ve run a promotion around Thanksgiving, where 100% of the net proceeds (sales less Amazon’s percentage of the take) is donated to a charity. So from now through the end of the month, if you purchase the title mentioned below I will donate 100% of the net proceeds to the East Texas Foodbank. These people can stretch a dollar – they can make just $1.00 feed 8 people, and have a mission of feeding children and the working poor throughout 26 counties in East Texas: in fiscal year 2014, they provided 20.2 million meals.

Let’s talk about the economics: the book is priced at $2.99 in order to maximize Amazon’s commission structure. At $2.99, that puts the commission at 70% (Amazon only pays authors 30% of the sales price if it is priced at $2.98 or less). To make the math simple, if you purchase the book you will feed 17 people. I hope I am writing a big check to the East Texas Food Bank!

So, what’s the book? I thought I would combine a food payoff with a food winner with a small Kindle book of my own personal recipes for authentic Tex-Mex beef and chicken fajitas. Yes, I’ve won a couple of contests with it (DizzyDean used to say something to the effect of “It ain’t bragging if you can do it.”), and they taste damn good if I do say so myself. Don’t settle for some store-bought concoction when you can have a little fun making it yourself. To compliment the fajita recipes, I’m also including easy-to-make recipes for pico de gallo, guacamole, and marinated onions. It’s no frills, easy to read and follow.

You can snag it if you click here or type in http://smarturl.it/2015etfb into your web browser.

Can I count on you? If you’ll click the link above, for less than the price of a Starbucks you can provide 17 meals to people who would otherwise go hungry. We have a vibrant community here, and I think our collective efforts can help a lot of folks.

If you do purchase the book, I appreciate it – I’ll keep you updated on where we stand on the effort as the challenge continues throughout the rest of the month.

Thanks!

Michael

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

